Daddy // Sylvia Plath

by WildChild

Bit my pretty red heart in two.
I was ten when they buried you.
At twenty I tried to die
And get back, back, back to you.
I thought even the bones would do.

But they pulled me out of the sack,
And they stuck me together with glue.
And then I knew what to do.
I made a model of you,
A man in black with a Meinkampf look

And a love of the rack and the screw.
And I said I do, I do.
So daddy, I’m finally through.
The black telephone’s off at the root,
The voices just can’t worm through.

Sylvia Plath, author of the confessional poem “Daddy,” uses many stylistic devices in the poem to develop a negative attitude towards men, namely her adulterous husband and absent father. “Daddy” uses metaphor, diction, allusion, irony, and imagery to produce a tone of hatred and digust at her relationships with both men. In lines 71-80, Plath’s imagery brings closure to both the poem and any desire for the continuity of either relationship.

© 2001 Cassie Durawa

Sylvia Plath- An American writter. Her work suggests the deathly and painful challenges of life. They largely focus on love, relationships, feelings and how those things intertwine with death. Plath had attempted suicide numerous times, she planned her attempts well enough to be saved in the midst of end. She succesfully killed herself in her kitchen, asking her children to go to their room, she let the gas from the stove slowly take her life. She was found too late, when her end had finnaly come.
A truly sincere writer, with a lot to say about the experience of humanity. Sylvia Plath – Poetry’s Lioness

