“If it keeps up, man will atrophy all his limbs but the push-button finger.”

by WildChild

Does no one miss the simpler times?  Would it be so horrid to send letters by mail, and not email?  Does technology lessen the power and meaning of thoughts, niceties? Does the internet pollute our minds or build our knowledge?  Are people and information too accessible?

As a person, who has grown up surrounded by technology, I wish I sometimes did not have it all at my fingertips.  I wish I had to work harder to find what I want, what I need.  I want to listen to records, read books that are falling apart, write letters by ink and send them off by the way of my local postman.  I want to wait a few days before hearing from the boy I met in the coffee shop.  Where did the anticipation go?   Bring me back to the time of Jane Austen, record players, love letters, old books.  Take away my television and let me have a picnic outside and instead watch the birds and feel the wind on my face.

I guess I want to know, why do we need it for everything, especially our most personal aspects of life?  When do you know if you really want something anymore.  You can have it all.  An instant text message, using Skype to see the face of someone miles away.  Would a picture not suffice, creating more longing instead of instant satisfaction?  Buying things online instead of taking the time to hand-pick an item in a store for the receiver of this gift.  Maybe I wish to suffer, wait, hope for some kind of obstacle to create a challenge.  Technology has broken down the barriers to emotions, left no questions unanswered and possibly answered without sincerity.

This is a very conflicted piece of writing, I remain in awe, and in angst with technology.  I love access to music, family, people from all over the world.   I challenge myself to stay away from mass media, while absorbing it through websites.  I use blogging as a tool to share my thoughts and connect with others.  Technology is fascinating, the internet is powerful, I do not doubt the amazing aspects.  I know one thing, I just sometimes wish times could be simpler, and people more real, more visible.  I wish I was able to do that myself.

