My Life is a Rough Draft

by WildChild

I’m one of those 24 year olds doing what the most independently awkward ones do: throwing myself into horrible encounters with the opposite sex to up my memoir chapters, hiding from a 9-5, dating everyone and their brother, dancing everywhere, all while trying not lose my mind in the process.  This 20 something debacle has turned into multiple generations of bullshit.  Even those many men I have dated that are 30 somethings with wonderful jobs, you know saving lives, seem to be doing drugs, partying like it’s 1999 and acting like complete assholes.

There was heartache, heartbreak and tears back in the day but at least there was not instant access to text messaging and Facebook.  You can delete numbers and what you wrote and pretend like it never happened (which is my method of choice) but in the end you look crazy for THEIR crazy.  So in the end, laugh it off, and laugh really hard because this is the messy stuff and to win the battle you have got to dig deep into your sickest sarcasm.

This obviously isn’t about me, I’m practically perfect….as a rough draft.

30 Life Lessons For 20-Somethings With Too Many Feelings

My choice: Laugh constantly. Laugh freely. Laugh at every moment in your life. Laugh when it is appropriate. Laugh when it isn’t. Laugh when it fucking hurts like hell. Laugh when the happiness escaping your throat is as smooth as a whiskey seven. If you cannot laugh when you’re beat down. When you are hurt. When you are two seconds away from inhaling a pain that will drown you, you will never survive.

SONY DSC

“I have been dating someone that treats my heart like it’s monkey meat. I feel like a delusional, invisible person half the time so I need to learn what it’s like to be treated well before it’s too late for me.” Hannah Horvath

