Lily Trotters: Fitness + Fashion + Medical

by WildChild

Lily Trotters Testimonial!

Growing up I was an athlete, running from practice to practice, sometimes up to three after school.  I THRIVED off the competition and physical demands of athletics.

lt8

lt7

Junior year I was all set to start scouting out colleges to play field hockey and/or basketball until I was diagnosed with Chronic Compartment Syndrome.  For those who do not know this condition it feels like your legs are on FIRE.

Additional information (source WebMD):

Groups of organs or muscles are organized into areas called compartments. Strong webs of connective tissue called fascia form the walls of these compartments.

After an injury, vigorous exercise, blood or edema (fluid resulting from inflammation or injury) may accumulate in the compartment. The tough walls of fascia cannot easily expand, and compartment pressure rises, preventing adequate blood flow to tissues inside the compartment. Severe tissue damage can result, with loss of body function or even death.

com

I played through the pain with lots of PT, electrical muscle stimulation, ice baths, until it was unbearable and decided to forego my senior year Varsity Basketball season for a double fasciotomy on both my legs.  The surgery was unsuccessful.

Life was tough for a while, I identified as an athlete, it was who I was.  So instead of giving up on my active lifestyle I slowly began to try long distance running.  I researched the best techniques, trained, stretched, educated myself and began to do longer and longer distances but was limited by my pace and distance.

When I found out about Lily Trotters and the benefits compression socks could have for my condition I was so ready to get them on and go for a run. Not only could I run further and faster, but my recovery time was cut in half.  It was also easy to keep up with my Siberian Husky 🙂 My ice calf sleeves for recovery weren’t even necessary anymore!  lt2

Not to mention these socks are aesthetically pleasing!  My MA in Fashion and Textile Marketing makes me a very picky dresser, even when I am “on the run”.

lt6

Lily Trotters Kickstarter campaign launches July 14th, 2015!  Be sure to sign up here to get special deals and all the information necessary!

lt3

LT1

